I have come that they may have life, and that they may have it more abundantly. John 10:10b
 
Picture
Pastor Edging said it today in church -- the direct answer to a question I've been asking lately.

"What kind of missionary am I if I'm not pursuantly sharing the Gospel at every opportunity?"

I have genuinely and earnestly prayed with nearly all the women I've cared for, but then, as the words try to form in my mind, my tongue is quicker to end the awkwardness - as if it should be so frightening to ask if they know how much they are loved by God himself.

 ...Oh, for many reasons. 

And I'm such a silly girl:

Ultimately talking myself into believing that it is enough to serve, and love on, and pray for these precious people of great Kingdom value; and that they will, somehow (through osmosis if it were possible), come to understand what all this means... what all these puti (white girls) are really here for...

Jesus.

"Preach the Gospel at all times and when necessary use words." (- Francis of Assisi)  No doubt love, love, love is the essential tool to draw hearts to Him, but perhaps we should not be so faint of courage to put a Name to that love.

What's the point of saving a life today for it to end up in everlasting death tomorrow -
What good is love and compassion with out leading them to the Source of all things lovely and good, for that, too, will ultimately end in everlasting misery -

Jesus.

He said, "I have come that they may have life... and have it more abundantly." Not just here and now, but forever and ever...

So, after days (perhaps weeks) of internal discussion, God put an end to it all with a few simple words from our new pastor. 
"... without the Gospel - it is not missions. Feeding, clothing, loving, and caring for people in need, only, are just platforms -- of which the Gospel gains access."
No matter who is watching, no matter my inability to communicate, no matter the circumstance... I will speak His name.

Jesus.
Michelle Uhl
10/6/2013 09:56:32 am

"No doubt love, love, love is the essential tool to draw hearts to Him, but perhaps we should not be so faint of courage to put a Name to that love."......that was the most amazing thing I have read in a long time!!! Simple, beautiful and true!!! You all are wonderful and we miss you here <3

Reply
Robyn
10/6/2013 10:36:14 pm

This is the 2nd time in a few days I have heard this message! So true and then it makes me think of all the missed opportunities too. So here is to today and all the difference we can make and all the platforms we are put on --to scream from! In His Name. LOVE you Leesh. MUAH.

Reply
Rebekah
10/7/2013 07:45:17 am

Love this, Leesh! Ahh, that we would be burdened for the lost--that the burden would be heavy enough to be inescapable. I proud of you, Wis!

Reply



Leave a Reply.